Hug your dad today (if you can)

I’ll never forget the last time I hugged my dad. I was leaving to return to Dallas after a visit and I remember that his belly got in the way a bit (he was overweight), we laughed about it, but hugged anyway.

I didn’t know it then, but it was the last time I’d ever see him.

I miss him and tears well up as I write this. He was a good dad and I hope that God gives him a wink every now and then as an “Atta boy” for being such a good father.

I hope the fish are always biting and his arms stay tired from reeling in big bass in heaven – that was his favorite pastime.

Those of you who are fortunate enough to still have your dad, be sure to give him an extra tight hug today, you never know when it’ll be the last one.

Garnet92.

 



Categories: General

Tags:

4 replies

  1. Thanks Emile. I miss my dad as well

    Like

  2. That was a heartwarming tribute to your dad, Garnet. Sounds like you were blessed.

    Like

    • Indeed, I have been blessed to have two loving parents, my mom and dad were both great parents. And, as if that wasn’t enough, I’ve been blessed with two wonderful children. I couldn’t ask for a better son and daughter than I have. God has been good to me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

