Just a Common Soldier (A Soldier Died Today)

We’ve probably all seen or read this touching poem about “a soldier who died today.” I can’t speak for everyone, but I do get a lump in my throat every time I hear it and it never gets old. It strikes especially close to home for me since I’m an old guy who remembers WWII, and whose veterans are the primary focus of the poem.

But the poem applies to all of our military, not just the few remaining vets of WWII. They are no more the heroes than those who fought and sometimes died in Korea or Viet Nam or Iraq or any other far away place where our military are deployed. The nation owes so much to these patriots; a debt that can never be repaid. We are who we are today because of their sacrifices. We must also never forget their families who suffered when their soldier was called to duty and sometimes didn’t return. We owe them a debt of gratitude as well.

Thank God that we have awakened from the 60’s when our returning troops were subjected to all sorts of indignities. Those who inflicted those indignities didn’t deserve to have our young men or women sacrifice life and limb on their behalf. It’s a shame that we, as a nation, didn’t recognize them for what they were: evil human beings unworthy of being protected by our brave military.

I know that on this Memorial Day, we reflect on those who have given so much, including their lives, to defend our American Way of Life. We owe it to them to make sure that their sacrifices were not in vain by allowing our beloved America to be subverted from within by those who don’t cherish the same values that our vets fought and died for.

God bless our military and our veterans and God bless the United States of America.

Garnet92.

H/T to my friend John P. for sending this!



Categories: General

Tags:

11 replies

  1. Do not wish me a “happy” Memorial Day. This is not a day for celebration, but a time for somber reflection on that greatest cost, that final sacrifice, that ultimate price for freedom.

    Do not “thank” me for prior military service this Memorial Day. It was my honor, but this day is for remembering those who did not return.

    Instead, reserve your gratitude for the fallen, those who have borne that cost, made that sacrifice, paid that price, all for you.

    Never forget what they gave so you may live free. Honor them by staying free.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Looking at the family military history over the last century, I consider our clan was especially blessed.
      Although there were casualties, from relatively minor wounds to devastating injury, including one suffering a gas attack in WW I, there is only one combat fatality of which I am aware.
      He was my father’s first cousin, and member of the Royal Canadian Air Force.
      RCAF Flight Lieutenant Colman S. Neill’s plane was lost over the English Channel during WW II. His remains were not recovered.

      Like

      • Salty, it’s for this reason that although I am a veteran, I consider myself a second-class veteran. I was never in harm’s way.

        I was fortunate to have served during peacetime, and never saw combat. The closest I ever got to battle were the constant alerts that were called to keep SAC ready. I was in General Curtis LeMay’s Strategic Air Command and our responsibility was keeping the B-47s ready at a moment’s notice to go bomb Russia. He was a tough dude, but he kept us ready.

        Like

  2. “Some gave all.” Yes, the lump in the throat and the tears. Beautiful piece, Garnet and John. Thank you.

    Like

  3. A beautiful and touching reminder. Thanks Garnet and John P.

    And thanks to all our veterans for their sacrifice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Unfortunately those that spread those indignities in the 60’s are the same that are spreading things even worse today. Those are our college professors

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

