A valuable resource for those who carry handguns

30.06 sign

I know that we have a lot of visitors who have carry licenses and I just learned of a resource that I view as valuable to us as a group. The resource is a Texas-specific one, but I imagine that there are other similar ones out there in other states as well.

In Texas, in order for an entity to legally prohibit a licensee from carrying a handgun legally on their property, they must post signage as defined by a Texas statute. That means a certain size, with lettering of a contrasting color and of a specific minimum size and using the verbiage spelled out in the statute. In other words, it defines specific requirements that must be met before the sign is deemed “legal.” Just a silhouette of a handgun in a red circle with a slash through it won’t cut it.

Texas has two different signs; one for concealed handguns (30.06) and a different one for our recently-enacted open carry (30.07).

I was considering a post about concealed carry and while reading the comments following the article, a commenter mentioned a resource that he used. When I followed the link, I found a valuable resource (for me) that will help me to decide where to spend my money.

It lists (and is searchable) entities that have either a 30.06 or 30.07 (or both) posted and whether the signs follow the law. It also identifies a “51%” sign which is a sign warning that a restaurant derives more than half of its income from alcohol and is therefore prohibited to legal carry.

In the post, I had already planned to note that I don’t recall the last time that I saw a 30.06 sign posted in a business. They were all over when our CC law was first implemented in 1999, but as license holders rebelled and stopped doing business with them, businesses soon removed them and they dwindled away to what I thought was zero. I was wrong. There are still quite a number of entities that have the signs posted – just none that I frequent.

This site provides the ability to search the database to home in on those entities who prohibit (or try to prohibit) legally carried handguns from their establishment. I searched Plano, where I live.

Plano is a northern suburb of Dallas and has a population of 260,000, so it’s not a small town. When I searched Plano, I found about 150 places that had posted one or both of the prohibition signs.

Members (you have to sign up for access to the notes, but not to view businesses) post notations about the location(s) of the signs and whether they appear to be legal (follow the law’s specs) – all valuable information.

Here’s a link to the site so you can see what’s available here in Texas:

https://www.texas3006.com/

Speaking for myself, I’m thankful that I found this site. I want to know when a business prefers that I, a lawfully armed citizen, do business elsewhere.

I am now “doubly armed,” both with my carry pistol and knowing which merchants to do business with and which ones to avoid.

Garnet92.



Categories: General

Tags:

5 replies

  1. This is a great post, Garnet. I actually have my CHL and so does my husband but to date neither of us actually carry. Part of the reason is that I’m so afraid of getting legally tripped up by places like you mention above, so this is a very good resource to have.

    Thanks!

    Like

    • CW, at the risk of sounding like I’m preaching from the pulpit, a CHL actually gives you a license TO CARRY A HANDGUN, or didn’t you know that?

      If (God forbid) some perp ever accosts you or hubby, you’ll be wishing that you were carrying rather than having left the weapon back home. You can do as I did and ease into it, little by little, until now, I feel peculiar without it.

      I hope that you never have an occasion to use it (me either), but it does provide some degree of confidence that you can fight back, if needed.

      Frankly, I don’t really worry about the signage. I don’t expect to “open carry” so the 30.07 won’t affect me. I hardly ever go to bars anymore, so the only 51% sign would be on a bar that pretends to be a restaurant and I see so few 30.06 signs that I don’t even worry about them. With the few exceptions of government offices, schools, and voting places, I just carry and forget about it. My piece is well concealed and is not likely to print. If something happens and I have to use it – it’s still better to have it and take the flack afterwards as necessary.

      Like

      • You’re absolutely right. I deserve to be scolded. I actually don’t have a good handgun for myself and there’s no excuse for that since my son works in the gun department at an outdoor store and has offered many times to help me choose a good one. I promise to correct this a.s.a.p.!

        Like

      • Sounds like you’ve got a good source to help you choose a handgun, but don’t forget the holster as well. I don’t know how many holsters I have here (at least ten or a dozen) and most are collecting dust because they just weren’t comfortable or didn’t stay in place, etc. When I bought my current daily carry, I bought a nice leather holster and it worked OK but after “wearing” it for a week or two, I decided that it was too bulky and bought a Kydex one that is perfect – thinner, lighter, more comfortable and doesn’t print. My point is, if your holster isn’t comfortable, you’ll be reluctant to wear it and that defeats the purpose. You need to be as selective when choosing a holster as choosing the pistol itself.

        Like

    • I will definitely heed that advice, Garnet. Thanks again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

