A Couple of Heroic Efforts After the Orlando Massacre

victims-pulse-orlando-shooting

Victims of the Orlando shooting. Photo courtesy New York Daily News

Not to diminish how horrid the events were that took place in Orlando this weekend, but there were some heroic efforts made in the minutes and hours that followed the mass shooting by one psycho muslim. In much the same vein as we witnessed following 9-11 and other attacks, people just naturally try to help each other. Following are two short stories of similar actions.

Joshua the Doctor’s Story

blood soaked shoesThese are my work shoes from Saturday night. They are brand new, not even a week old. I came to work this morning and saw these in the corner of my call room, next to the pile of dirty scrubs.

I had forgotten about them until now. On these shoes, soaked between its fibers, is the blood of 54 innocent human beings. I don’t know which were straight, which were gay, which were black, or which were hispanic. What I do know is that they came to us in wave upon wave of suffering, screaming, and death. And somehow, in that chaos, doctors, nurses, technicians, police, paramedics, and others, performed super human feats of compassion and care.

This blood, which poured out of those patients and soaked through my scrubs and shoes, will stain me forever. In these Rorschach patterns of red I will forever see their faces and the faces of those that gave everything they had in those dark hours.

There is still an enormous amount of work to be done. Some of that work will never end. And while I work I will continue to wear these shoes. And when the last patient leaves our hospital, I will take them off, and I will keep them in my office. I want to see them in front of me every time I go to work. For on June 12, after the worst of humanity reared its evil head, I saw the best of humanity of come fighting right back. I never want to forget that night.”

Dr. Joshua Corsa M.D, EMT-P
Orlando Regional Medical Center
Senior Resident, Department of Surgery

~ ~ ~

Joshua the Civilian’s Story

The nightmarish events that unfolded inside the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, Florida this weekend are enough to scar anyone for life. But instead of running away from the American-born terrorist armed with a semi-automatic rifle and 9mm handgun, one man stuck around to help a complete stranger who had been gravely injured in the gun battle.

Bravely, Joshua opened his heart and shared what happened that horrific Saturday night within Pulse, and the incredible events that unfolded after escaping.

There was a very tragic thing that happened tonight. Thoughts and prayers for everyone at Pulse or that know anyone that was at Pulse. It was very crazy and a traumatic experience.

I’m very thankful I got away safe and a lot of other people I know and care about did as well. I hid under a car and found one of the victims that was shot. I tied my shirt and his shirt over his wounds to stop the bleeding and got him secretly to the nearest officer who then transported us to the ER.”

Without hesitation, Joshua gave the shirt off his back to a total stranger, helped to temporarily dress his wounds and kept the man calm when he realized the extent of his injuries.

But before the police officers whisked the man away, Joshua began to pray for him, right there on the street.

“Words cannot and will not describe the feeling of that. Being covered in blood…. Trying to save a guy’s life that I don’t even know, regardless that I’m fine…. just traumatized. The things I had to say to the guy and make promises I didn’t know I would be able to keep or not to keep him conscious while holding him as tight as I could and blood everywhere on me.

Saying a prayer for him and letting him know I will be here waiting for him. It sucks because all I got was his name and I can’t even see if he’s okay because I’m not related. If anyone knows of a guy named Rodney that was shot and injured tonight…. Please let me know he is okay.

I felt God put me at the club and made me stay behind to help a complete stranger. For whatever reason that might be…. I don’t know…. But, I do know it was hopefully [enough] to save his life. May God be with us all in this time of need.”

His spiritual account of the attack went viral, and soon the internet community rallied around Joshua and helped put him in touch with Rodney and his family. Rodney is healing from surgery, but his new guardian angel plans to visit him as soon as he’s allowed!

~~~~~~~~~

These two men, both named Joshua, are the perfect examples of what people do when tragedy strikes – we buckle down and try to help each other. We give them the shirt off our back and we worry not about the blood dripping onto the new shoes, while attempting to save lives of our fellow Americans, no matter their color or lifestyle.

We may disagree with their choices, but deep down we’re all still Americans. That’s one thing the radical muslim terrorists will never understand – it doesn’t matter what you try to do to us, we will still continue to care about each other.

~Kathy



Categories: General

3 replies

  1. Two great stories Kathy! Those two guys help us to keep the faith that there is still good in most people – people willing to sacrifice to help another stranger – that does us good to hear of such displays of commitment to help our fellow man.

    Like

  2. Those were both very touching stories, Kathy. Any more these horrible events and the impact on those involved gets overshadowed by the political posturing that begins two seconds after it hits the news. Many people’s lives were ended or changed forever as a result of one man’s senseless rampage. I think it does the heart and soul good to hear about the compassion and selflessness that still exists.

    Like

  3. Good stories, Kathy. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

